Skip to main content

Online library - help and guidance: About electronic resources

About digital resources - what they are, useful tools and help

Databases of journal articles and research, bibliographic, statistical or financial information

The best way to search our databases is to use the search option in our library catalogue.

You need to select "E-journals" from the drop-down menu.

Our Subject Guides also recommend databases relevant to your subject area and all of our databases are listed in our A-Z list.

Databases may have the full-text of journal articles or just abstracts or references to them. If we have do have the full text of the article available in another database or journal you can find it using the ‘Is Newman full-text available?’ link.

E-journals

Also known as ‘serials’ and ‘periodicals’ - include conference proceedings, newspapers and magazines.

Use the library catalogue to search for journal articles. Add your search and choose ‘e-journals’ on the drop-down menu next to the search box before you click on ‘Search’.

E-books

Find e-books on the library catalogue using ‘Newman catalogue’ on the drop down menu.

Choose ‘Refine your search options’ (may display as + on some devices) then choose ‘Internet’ under ‘Library Location’.

We don’t recommend using Internet Explorer for e-books.

Image and sound collections

Source video clips, images and recorded interviews using the A-Z list.

Reference sources

Find these on the A-Z list or your Subject Guide


For the most up to date COVID-19 related changes, check our COVID-19 webpage.

View current service issues

Contact us | Feedback | Accessibility statement | Connect with us Facebook logo Twitter bird logo