Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Applied Humanities: Databases

Our guide for Applied Humanities students - helping you make the most of the library

Key academic databases for Applied Humanities (secondary sources)

Remember that, as Applied Humanities students, your inquiries may take you well beyond the 'traditional' fields of students in other Humanities disciplines. You can use the subject guides from other programmes, or the A-Z Resources to find further academic databases to research topics.

Using databases

What are databases?

Databases are specialised online collections of information that are used by researchers in academic, government and private organisations.

Databases may contain:

  • information about academic research, such as abstracts, reference lists, research data
  • the full text of research projects and journal articles
  • financial and business information
  • statistical data
  • law reports

 

What can I use databases for?

Databases contain more information than is available just in the Newman library catalogue. You may need to use databases, for example, to find information about different companies if you are a Business Management student; or to find Law reports if you are a Law student.

When you start to do more in-depth academic research, for example if you have to write a dissertation in year 3 of your course, databases can be useful for finding useful sources from beyond the Newman catalogue.

Your module leader will be able to tell you if they expect you to be using databases to help you write your assignments.

If you would like help in understanding how to use a database, or how it can help you, you can always speak to an Academic Service Librarian by booking a one-to-one tutorial, or booking on to a library workshop if there is a suitable one available.

Key resource: Box of Broadcasts

A rich resource for Applied Humanities students. It contains recording of programmes shown on terrestrial television channels going back several years: including, news, documentaries, films, drama and cultural content.

You can also access the BBC Shakespeare Archive through the Learning on Screen website, for access to TV and radio adaptations of Shakespeare's plays and a wealth of resources on Shakespeare and his cultural legacy.