Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Useful websites for Foundation Year
Centre for Crime and Justice Studies
The Centre for Crime and Justice Studies is an independent educational charity that advances public understanding of crime and criminal justice.
Edinburgh Study of Youth Transitions and Crime
The Edinburgh Study of Youth Transitions and Crime is a programme of research that aims to address a range of fundamental questions about the causes of criminal and risky behaviours in young people.
National Crime Agency
The National Crime Agency leads the UK’s fight to cut serious and organised crime, protecting the public by targeting and pursuing those criminals who pose the greatest risk to the UK.
British Library Sounds
The British Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.
BBC Shakespeare Archive
The site contains hundreds of TV and radio programmes from the BBC’s Shakespeare collection, as well as more than a thousand photos from classic Shakespeare productions.
The programmes on this site are only available for streamed playback in an educational setting, such as in a classroom, lecture theatre or for academic research.
British History Online
An online library of primary and secondary British historical sources. The focus of the library is c.1300-c.1800 but there are also 19th and 20th century sources included.
Legacies of British Slave Ownership
A project and resource base on the colonial slave trade hosted by University College London.
Statistics are used by academics to support and develop arguments and theories. Use statistics in assignments or research to add weight to your arguments.
UK Official Statistics from the Office for National Statistics
The Office for National Statistics (ONS) is the most important source for UK official statistics. It collects, analyses and publishes statistics about the UK’s economy, society and population.
ONS statistics cover a range of different topics and subjects. As a Criminology student, you may wish to explore the following sections:
ONS Crime and Justice
Figures on crime levels and trends for England and Wales based primarily on two sets of statistics: the Crime Survey for England and Wales (CSEW) and police recorded crime data.
ONS Education and Childcare
Early years childcare, school and college education, and higher education and adult learning, including qualifications, personnel, and safety and well-being.
ONS Health and Social Care
Life expectancy and the impact of factors such as occupation, illness and drug misuse. We collect these statistics from registrations and surveys.
Societal and personal well-being in the UK looking beyond what we produce, to areas such as health, relationships, education and skills, what we do, where we live, our finances and the environment. This data comes from a variety of sources and much of the analysis is new.
Statistics from government departments
Government departments also release statistics related to their functions and the policies that they implement.
UK Government Research and Statistics
You can use this page to search for official statistics released by government departments. As a starting point, you may wish to use the 'Organisation' menu on the left-hand side to search for 'Home Office' or 'Justice'.
Guidance on using Internet resources
With millions of resources available on the internet, it can be difficult to find relevant and appropriate material even if you have good search skills.
The following tips will help you to develop your website evaluation skills for your reading, assignments and research. They're also handy for assessing any information you come across, online or offline, in your studies or in your life outside of university.
- Use the CRAAP Test developed by the Meriam Library in California. CRAAP stands for ‘Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy and Purpose’.
- Ask your Academic Service Librarian for help with improving your information evaluation skills. They offer one-to-one support tutorials and workshops throughout the year.
- Use Virtual Training Suite which provides free online tutorials on using the internet for many subjects. It covers general skills and more specific, subject-relevant topics.
Your librarian recommends...
The National Archives
The Official UK Government archive, containing important national documents going back over 1000 years - including Wills, military service records, parliamentary records, the UK Government's digital archive and much more.
A selection of TED talks on the subject of Criminal Justice.
TED is a nonprofit organisation set up to spread new ideas and innovation. TED talks are short lectures on a huge range of subjects, searchable on the website.
TV and Radio programmes
Box of Broadcasts is an online streaming and archive service for TV and radio programmes for universities.
You can view and record over 2 million TV and radio programmes including off-air recordings from the BBC going back to 2007. You can also record programmes up to 30 days after broadcast from over 60 TV and radio channels.
Box of Broadcasts also allows you to create clips from programmes and share these with other users. You can keep your recorded programmes and clips for as long as you need them. You can also search other users’ content.