Skip to main content

Using the library: Library Collections

Our services and facilities - computers, study zones, online library, disability support and dyslexia support

  

View the different collections we have at Newman Library...

We have several collections of different types of resources or subject–based collections, but alongside these, many library resources are electronic so you can best explore them all using the library catalogue.

The general library collection is located on Level 2 and is based around the subject areas taught at Newman and includes:
• Academic and theoretical texts
• General reference materials; including dictionaries and encyclopedias
• Education reference materials; including government reports
• Pamphlets
• DVDs & CDs

We have access to thousands of journals to support learning and teaching at Newman. Journals are important for research and becoming aware of professional changes and developments in your subject.

Most are ejournals rather than printed, so you can search and read them on or off-campus using the ejournals drop down search option on the library catalogue – this is the best way to search for journal articles.

Our Journal Finder lists our ejournals and printed journals and is the best way to check whether we have access to a specific journal title. We have a small collection of printed journals Level 1 in the library, which you can use only in the library.

If you need a journal article that we don't have access to, we may be able to supply this by email using our inter-library loans service.

We have several hundred DVDs and CDs including films, TV documentaries, and music.

You can play DVDs and CDs using headphones on all the computers in the Library. You can also watch them in the Presentation Booths so long as you have a Click and Study booking.

The School Experience Collection on Level 0 in the library is aimed at students on school experience placements. It includes:
• Teachers' notes and lesson plans
• Music CDs
• DVDs
• Pictures and posters
• Topic kits
• Children's non-fiction
• Religious, historical and other artefacts
• Reading Schemes - one pack contains at least 6 titles for you to borrow

Located on Level 0, the Children's Fiction Collection includes award winning and shortlisted fiction titles. We have created guides to help you choose age-appropriate titles, whilst our Picture Fiction books are organised by theme to make it easier to find what you need.

The John Henry Newman Collection of approximately 500 books and pamphlets is located on Level 1. It contains a wide range of Newman's own works, including letters, diaries, essays and sermons, as well as works by other members of the Oxford Movement. It also includes secondary sources, from early Patristic writings to more modern works.

The Local History Collection on Level 2 concentrates on the history of the boroughs which now form the West Midlands but also covers the former counties of Staffordshire, Worcester and Warwickshire. It includes photographs, historical maps, 19th and 20th Century newspapers on microfilm, the 1871 Census for Birmingham, copies of archival material and 4,000 books and pamphlets. Our microfilm and microfiche reader is located on Level 2 next to the Local History Collection, and can be used to read and save the microfilms and microfiche from our collection. You need to have a Click and Study appointment to use the microfilm and microfiche reader


For the most up to date COVID-19 related changes, check our COVID-19 webpage.

View current service issues

Contact us | Feedback | Accessibility statement | Connect with us Facebook logo Twitter bird logo