If you are taking part in the next research evaluation exercise after REF2021, you may need to deposit your research in Birmingham Newman's repository. We have made this process as easy as possible for you by creating some easy to complete online forms. Find out more about what to do on this page.
Or e-mail the repository team at repository@newman.ac.uk
A fee paid to a publisher to make an article Open Access via the Gold route.
The final author-created version of an accepted article, which includes any changes made after peer-review. Documents that have been typeset or copyedited by the publisher (such as proofs or the final published version) are not AAMs.
A fee paid to a publisher to cover the costs of publishing books or book chapters open access.
Copyright exists to protect the rights of the person(s) who has created a work and ensure they receive due recognition for their contribution. Copyright gives the holder power over how the work is used, distributed and adapted for a set period of time. It is part of a group of rights which protect intellectual property.
The person who takes primary responsibility for communicating with a journal or publisher during the publication process. When working with multiple authors, the corresponding author usually takes the lead and acts on behalf of all authors working on the output.
Access to Transformative Agreements is usually based on whether the corresponding author’s institution is a signatory.
A licence applied by a copyright owner to allow reuse of their work in any manner consistent with that licence. There are six types of Creative Commons licence, listed below, from the most open licence, to the most restrictive:
Used to inform readers about data associated with a piece of published research. The data access statement should describe where the data underpinning the research can be found, and under what conditions they can be accessed.
A numerical or alphanumeric string which is permanently attached to an online object, such as a journal article, book, file, website or other work. The DOI uniquely identifies the object and also provides a persistent link to its location.
A period of time, set by the owner or publisher of a work, which places a restriction on sharing it openly. There is often an embargo period for authors choosing to go down the self-archiving route.
When an Open Access copy of the publication is made available via the publisher’s website, often in return for an article processing charge being paid (Jisc, 2017).
Funds awarded to an individual or an institution to support research and research-related activities.
When an Open Access copy of the publication, or pre-print of a paper accepted for publication, is archived in an institutional or subject specific repository (Jisc, 2017).
Green Open Access is sometimes called "self-archiving"
Birmingham Newman's repository of choice which is shared by other GuildHE members. You can search the repository to look at research produced by Birmingham Newman authors
A journal where some of the content is published gold (immediate open access) and some content is only available via subscription, or individual payments for specific articles
An online archive of an institutions scholarly outputs
A unique number which is assigned to a book to identify it.
An eight-digit code which is used to identify newspapers, journals and periodicals.
A data and technology agency focussed on tertiary education, research and innovation. They provide shared services, infrastructure and advice on managing library resources, research publication lifecycle and research outputs.
A book length publication such as a scholarly monograph, edited collection, trade book, scholarly edition, exhibition catalogue, illustrated catalogue, textbook, or work of fiction / creative writing.
Long-form publications have traditionally been excluded from most funders’ Open Access policies, but some longer works are now being brought into scope. For example, the current UKRI policy covers monographs, book chapters and edited collections, although other long forms are not required to be made openly available.
A requirement from your research funder to follow their policy on Open Access.
The document submitted to a publisher pre-publication.
Data that describes and gives information about other data. For each record created in Newman’s institutional repository metadata is inputted which conforms to a certain standard allowing data to be harvested by aggregators of research outputs.
A book, treatise, or other written work on a single topic.
To help you cover the cost of open access publishing Birmingham Newman University has signed up to a number of deals which entitle Birmingham Newman authors to discounted or free open access publishing. To see what deals are available, visit our intranet page Open access publisher off-setting discounts for Birmingham Newman researchers.
A journal which is free for anybody with an internet connection to read in its entirety.
An ORCID iD is a persistent digital identifier which can be used to distinguish individual researchers.
Some research funders require researchers to have an ORCiD identifier. When you submit your research you should always include details of your ORCiD identifier, even if you have supplied it previously for another piece of research.
The product of research as defined by the REF policy, for example a journal article or a book. The definition is broad enough to encompass all forms of research therefore allowing for assessment on a fair and equal basis.
Each Unit of Assessment is assigned a panel under which it will assessed. The panel you are being assessed under also determines the maximum embargo period permitted if you are self-archiving (green open access).
A copy of your research in PDF format. We require you to deposit your research as a Word version rather than in PDF form. This is because we need to ensure we create a full text searchable PDF rather than an image PDF type otherwise the research output would not comply with REF requirements. We may also need to add a publishers statement at the beginning of your research output to comply with publishers requirements.
An initiative which aims to accelerate the transition to Open Access publishing. Funders which are signatories to Plan S require research resulting from public grants to be published in Open Access journals or platforms.
Also known as the authors accepted manuscript, this is the version of your research output which has been accepted for publication, after peer review but without printers formatting. You should keep a copy of this version in MS Word format and submit it to the repository as soon as possible after acceptance.
Any version of a manuscript which precedes formal peer review or other quality assurance as part of the publication process.
Provide a quantitative method to analyse published research. They can inform researchers on the potential impact of your research and help to make responsible choices about where to publish.
Anywhere that published research will be made available in either print or digital format. This includes established forms such as books, journals and conference proceedings and newer online outlets, for example pre-print servers, pre-publication platforms, funder platforms and scholar-led initiatives, such as the Open Library of Humanities.
The current method by which the four UK higher education funding bodies, Research England, the Scottish Funding Council (SFC), the Higher Education Funding Council for Wales (HEFCW), and the Department for the Economy, Northern Ireland (DfE), assess the quality and impact of the research they support in academic institutions across the UK (REF, 2022a). The latest iteration of this exercise is REF2021.
Research outputs are assessed by expert panels in 34 subject-based units of assessment (UOAs), overseen by four main < ahref="https://www.ref.ac.uk/panels/what-is-the-role-of-expert-panels/" target="_blank">panels covering Medicine, health and life sciences (Panel A); Physical sciences, engineering and mathematics (Panel B); Social sciences (Panel C) and Arts and humanities (Panel D) (REF, 2022b).
The REF Open Access policy forms part of the main Guidance on submissions.
The Future Research Assessment Programme (FRAP) is currently looking at possible alternatives to the REF as a means of assessing the UK research environment. This is currently being referenced as REF2029, although there are expected to be significant differences from the current framework particularly around who can submit work and the eligibility of outputs.
An online archive for collecting, preserving and distributing digital copies of research output for a particular institution. Newman has an institutional repository which stores research outputs created by researchers at Newman. Our repository is shared with other members of the Guild HE Research community.
A read and publish agreement is an agreement in which the publisher receives payment for reading and payment for publishing bundled into a single contract.
Birmingham Newman Library is signed up to Read and Publish deals with the several publishers. To find out more about publishing discounts for open access publishing in these deals, see our intranet page Open access publisher off-setting discounts for Birmingham Newman researchers.
A statement included on a manuscript at the point it is submitted to a publisher. This tells the publisher that you have already applied a licence to the version you have submitted. This means the research can be shared more widely and allows researchers to comply with funder policies via the Green route if no appropriate Gold route is available.
See "Green Open Access"
An organisation which is involved in projects relating to repositories and open access. They provide search tools for searching a number of repositories at one time.They also provide a number of tools related to open access policies and copyright licenses.
Enter your funder and the ISSN or title of your chosen journal and you will get a summary showing ticks and crosses indicating whether their open access and copyright policies are compatible. There are also links to publisher and funder full policies. Use SHERPA FACT.
Search for information about your research funder's open access and copyright policies. Use SHERPA JULIET.
Search SHERPA ROMEO for your publisher, or by journal ISSN or title and you will get a summary of publisher and journal copyright and open access policies. Use SHERPA ROMEO.
The point at which you submit your work to the publisher.
Also referred to as transitional agreements they are contracts negotiated between institutions and publishers, designed to support the transition to Open Access publishing. They achieve this by converting traditional subscription spend into publication spend.
A subscription or hybrid journal which is actively committed to transitioning to a fully Open Access journal (cOAlition S, 2020).
A fixed version of a journal article that has been made available by a publisher. It is also referred to as the final published version. It is the fully copyedited, typeset and formatted copy of a manuscript.
COAlition S (2020) Transformative journals: frequently asked questions. Available at: https://www.coalition-s.org/transformative-journals-faq/ (Accessed: 23 December 2022).
Jisc (2019) An introduction to Open Access. Available at: https://www.jisc.ac.uk/guides/an-introduction-to-open-access (Accessed: 23 December 2022).
Jisc (2017) Open by default? Available at: https://www.jisc.ac.uk/reports/open-by-default (Accessed: 23 December 2022).
REF (2022a) What is the REF? Available at https://www.ref.ac.uk/about-the-ref/what-is-the-ref/ (Accessed: 23 December 2022).
REF (2022b) What is the role of expert panels? Available at https://www.ref.ac.uk/panels/what-is-the-role-of-expert-panels/ (Accessed: 23 December 2022).
If you are taking part in the REF 2021 you may find the following guidance helpful:
Last reviewed: 14 November 2023
