Newman University Library: Chaplaincy: Books, e-books and chapters

quick links

Referencing Guide
Video Guides
Upcoming Workshops
Inter-Library Loans

E-book suggestions from the Theology and Philosophy team

Being a chaplain

Ministry in the spiritual and cultural diversity of health care

Process Theology: a guide for the perplexed

Spiritual care in practice: case studies in healthcare chaplaincy

Paediatric Chaplaincy: Principles, Practices and Skills

Hospital Chaplaincy in the Twenty-first Century: the Crisis of Spiritual Care on the NHS

A handbook of chaplaincy studies: understanding spiritual care in public places

Understanding religious ethics

Guide to books and e-books

For books and e-books Library Search will:

tell you whether we have an e-book, a print book, or both and how many copies we have
tell you where you can find a print book on our shelves using the shelfmark
link directly to the e-book if it is available

Library Search can also allow you to search for books outside of the Birmingham Newman Library collection and order an inter-library loan.

Finding books in the Library

A 'shelfmark' or 'call number' is a number that tells you where a book an be found in the library. Our main lending collection is on Level 2. Each row of shelves has a poster on the end that tells you what shelfmarks can be found there.

You can use the table on this page to see the general areas that main topics in your subject are shelved. Sometimes, casually browsing the shelves can turn up some great resources!

A shelfmark with two or three letters preceding it means that the book is not shelved in the main collection.

SE means it will be in our School Experience Collection on Level 0
LH means it will be in the Local History Collection on Level 2
REF or JHN is for the Reference or John Henry Birmingham Newman Collections on Level 1. You cannot borrow books from these collections: they can only be used in the Library.

Shelf locations

Main subject	Shelfmark
Religion and Theology	200-299
Chaplaincy	253
School Chaplaincy	258.23
Hospital Chaplaincy	259.411
Social theology and relations between religions	261
History of Chaplaincy	270

Last reviewed: 16 September 2024