tell you whether we have an e-book, a print book, or both and how many copies we have
tell you where you can find a print book on our shelves using the shelfmark
link directly to the e-book if it is available
Library Search can also allow you to search for books outside of the Birmingham Newman Library collection and order an inter-library loan.
Books & eBooks
Finding books in the Library
A 'shelfmark' or 'call number' is a number that tells you where a book an be found in the library. Our main lending collection is on Level 2. Each row of shelves has a poster on the end that tells you what shelfmarks can be found there.
You can use the table on this page to see the general areas that main topics in your subject are shelved. Sometimes, casually browsing the shelves can turn up some great resources!
When you find a book in Library Search, above the shelfmark it will tell you which collection it is in, and where to find it in the library. The different collections and locations are:
Newman Library Level 2: Our main lending collection on the top floor of the library
School Experience Collection Level 0: Our education focused lending collection on the bottom floor of the library (Including the 'Artefact', 'Big Book', 'Fiction', and 'Picture Fiction' collections)
Wellbeing Collection Level 2: A lending collection of books to support your wellbeing on the top floor of the library (Including books about self-care, hobbies, travel, identity, recipes, and more)
Local History Collection Level 2: A lending collection of books and resources about the history of Birmingham and the surrounding areas on the top floor of the library (Including the 'Microfilm' collection)
John Henry Newman Collection Level 1: A reference only collection of books by or about John Henry Newman, or relating to the Oxford Movement or Newman's own areas of interest and expertise on the middle floor of the library
