The School Experience Collection (SEC) can be found on Level 0 in the library. This collection is aimed at students on school experience placements. It includes:
All SEC items have a loan period of 7-days, and automatically renew 26 times unless there is a reservation on them or a problem with your library account. School Experience Collection items have extended loan periods for Privilege Scheme members.
When an item is due back, you will be notified to return it within 7 days. Failure to return the item within the 7 days after notification will result in your library account being blocked.
You are still expected to return items on time if you are on placement. Get in touch with us to discuss your circumstances if you are finding it difficult to get into the library to return your library items.
To find resources in SEC using Library Search, simply:
The School Experience Collection also contains a selection of artefact boxes. Use these artefacts to create interactive learning opportunities with your students. Click the buttons to browse the collection.
Story Sacks contain items to enhance your story time. Each sack contains a large picture fiction book with accompanying puppets and props. Favourites include 'The Gruffalo' and 'The Very Hungry Caterpillar'. Story Sacks are a great way to engage young children in story time.
Large-sized story books are a great way to conduct full class reading which engages young children. The vibrant and colourful illustrations help children develop visual recognition and stimulate their imaginations.
The SEC has both fiction and non-fiction Big Books for you to borrow.
The picture fiction collection is aimed at Primary level children. These can be used for story time or as alternatives for quiet reading.
The titles are arranged alphabetically by author's surname within a theme. For example, the shelfmark for 'The Tiger Who Came To Tea' is 'PICTURE FICTION WIL KER' because it is the picture fiction section, under the Wild Animals (WIL) theme, authored by Judith Kerr.
The list of themes and their abbreviations in the shelfmarks are as follows:
Last reviewed: 17 October 2025
