Newman University Library: Policing: Books, e-books and chapters

quick links

Referencing Guide
Video Guides
Upcoming Workshops
Inter-Library Loans

Professional reference books

Handbook of policing

Blackstone's police operational handbook 2022

Handbook of criminal investigation

Guide to books and e-books

For books and e-books Library Search will:

tell you whether we have an e-book, a print book, or both and how many copies we have
tell you where you can find a print book on our shelves using the shelfmark
link directly to the e-book if it is available

Library Search can also allow you to search for books outside of the Birmingham Newman Library collection and order an inter-library loan.

Finding books in the Library

A 'shelfmark' or 'call number' is a number that tells you where a book an be found in the library. Our main lending collection is on Level 2. Each row of shelves has a poster on the end that tells you what shelfmarks can be found there.

You can use the table on this page to see the general areas that main topics in your subject are shelved. Sometimes, casually browsing the shelves can turn up some great resources!

A shelfmark with two or three letters preceding it means that the book is not shelved in the main collection.

SE means it will be in our School Experience Collection on Level 0
LH means it will be in the Local History Collection on Level 2
REF or JHN is for the Reference or John Henry Birmingham Newman Collections on Level 1. You cannot borrow books from these collections: they can only be used in the Library.

Shelf locations

Subject	Shelf locations
Criminal Law	345
Policing	363.2
Domestic violence	362.8292
Functions of the Police	363.23
Criminal investigation	363.25
Criminology	364
Criminological research	364.072
Criminal Offences	364.1
Causes of crime	364.2
Crime and media	364.254
Psychology of crime	364.3
Race and crime	364.34
Youth crime	364.36
Penology	364.6
History of crime	364.09
Prisons	365

Last reviewed: 14 November 2023