Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Newman University Library

Printed books, journals, multimedia and artefacts

You can use Library Search to explore all of our collections, both physical and digital.

We have collections of printed books and journals, multimedia and artefacts that we keep in the Library that will help you with your interests and studies, work placements and research. The information below describes the collections you can find on the Library shelves.

 

The general library collection is located on Level 2 and is based around the subject areas taught at Newman and includes:

  • Academic and theoretical texts
  • General reference materials; including dictionaries and encyclopedias
  • Education reference materials; including government reports
  • Pamphlets
  • DVDs & CDs

We have access to thousands of journals to support learning and teaching at Newman. Articles in journals are where you will find the latest research and developments in your subject, and they will be important parts of your research and independent learning.

Almost all journals are now published online as e-journals, so you can search and read them whether you are on or off campus, using Library Search or one of the specialist databases or journal collections in the A-Z Resources. Very occasionally, you may find an article is only available in print. Our collection of printed journals is on level 1 in the Library. You cannot borrow them, but you are able to photocopy or scan the article you need.

You can search for both the titles of journals (e.g. British Educational Research Journal), and for articles within them, using Library Search.

If you need a journal article that we don't have access to, we may be able to supply this by email using our inter-library loans service.

We have several hundred DVDs and CDs including films, TV documentaries, and music.

You can play DVDs and CDs on all the computers in the Library. You can also watch them in the pods and presentation booths, but if you do, you are strongly advised to make a Book a Study Space booking. Bookings will always take priority for these spaces, even if you're half way through a film!

You must always use headphones when playing music, film or other media (including video conferencing) in the Library.

The School Experience Collection on Level 0 in the library is aimed at students on school experience placements. It includes:

  • Teachers' notes and lesson plans
  • Music CDs
  • DVDs
  • Pictures and posters
  • Topic kits
  • Children's non-fiction
  • Religious, historical and other artefacts
  • Reading Schemes - one pack contains at least 6 titles for you to borrow

Located on Level 0, the Children's Fiction Collection includes award winning and shortlisted fiction titles. We have created guides to help you choose age-appropriate titles, whilst our Picture Fiction books are organised by theme to make it easier to find what you need.

The John Henry Newman Collection of approximately 500 books and pamphlets is located on Level 1. It contains a wide range of Newman's own works, including letters, diaries, essays and sermons, as well as works by other members of the Oxford Movement. It also includes secondary sources, from early Patristic writings to more modern works.

The Local History Collection on Level 2 concentrates on the history of the boroughs which now form the West Midlands but also covers the former counties of Staffordshire, Worcester and Warwickshire. It includes photographs, historical maps, 19th and 20th Century newspapers on microfilm, the 1871 Census for Birmingham, copies of archival material and 4,000 books and pamphlets. Our microfilm and microfiche reader is located on Level 2 next to the Local History Collection, and can be used to read and save the microfilms and microfiche from our collection.


For the most up to date COVID-19 related changes, check our COVID-19 webpage.

View current service issues

Contact us | Feedback | Accessibility statement | Connect with us Twitter bird logo Instagram logo